Home > Android, MIUI, Xiaomi M1, Xiaomi MiOne > Xiaomi MI ONE with MIUI v4 ICS. The story so far…

Xiaomi MI ONE with MIUI v4 ICS. The story so far…

So I promised myself I would be good with this phone. If you’ve been following you will know that I got the MI ONE as a MIUI daily use phone (and because it is astonishingly cheap), and I would use my HTC HD2 with the more experimental ROMS. So that was the plan and I stuck with it for 3 months.  The MI ONE has been an astonishingly good daily use phone. Certainly better than the HTC HD2 if only for its battery life.

So while I was being good, I stuck with the stable stock MIUI ROMs supplied “Over The Air” by Xiaomi. The current ROM as I write is 2.3.5n. That is a Gingerbread MIUI V3 ROM and it is excellent. The one issue is that not everything is translated from Chinese. Not a huge issue for me as although I am not Chinese, it is one way or another a major part of my life. Besides, MIUI is a Chinese ROM after all. But for some it is annoying if only for the inconsistency.

However, the Xiaomi website forum has been giving tempting screenshots of MIUI v4 ICS for a while now, and the latest versions of MIUI Music, lockscreens, etc. have appeared on various sites. So it was only a matter of time before I cracked and tried a development ROM. The one thing holding me back was the translation issue. The development ROMs are exactly that. There is no guarantee with them as they are part of the development process and things can and do go wrong. Even Xiaomi say they will not be responsible for the damage caused and you will blow your warranty. So if something went wrong, it would be really helpful if it went wrong in English. And as that was not going to happen I was confident of staying good. Enter MIUIAndroid.

Owning a MI ONE outside of China is a bit of a lonely existence. I have never met another owner. When I go to China later this year I will be surprised if I meet one there either. But at least on MIUIAndroid there are a couple of people there that have the phone on the forum. What I didn’t expect was any ROM support. It is not as if there going to be a huge demand for it as opposed to a Samsung or HTC device.  So it was quite touching that they produced a translated version of the  MIUI v4 ICS development ROM (currently 2.3.16). Worse, I felt obliged to try it after all the effort put in. So how did it go?

Well first up I ignored Mark’s clear instructions and there were clear consequences. Bricked phone like clear consequences. Not to worry though as there are a multitude of ways to recover a MI ONE and provided you have used MIUI backup before hand it isn’t a disaster. I ended up putting the MI ONE in fastboot mode and used the MI-flash facility to get it back from the dead. I then applied the new ROM as instructed.

So it loads and it has issues but then that is why it is a development ROM. Mark at MIUIAndroid put in a lot of time make it usable and it pays dividends… and MIUI V4 does look stunning.

So if there is a point to this post at all it would be:

1) MIUI V4 ICS needs a bit more work but the potential is exciting

2) The Xiaomi MI ONE doesn’t seem to mind being abused by a fool like me

3) If you have a MI ONE outside of China, you are no longer alone,  and that perhaps is the nicest thing to find.

  1. eóin
    April 11, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    I’ve got one. In Ireland. I guess I’ll wait for xiaomi’s release then…
    Thanks for the post. I felt alone 🙂

    • April 11, 2012 at 10:31 pm

      Welcome aboard! Yes we are few and far between but there are a few of us about. Check out the Miuiandroid forum. They work closely with Xiaomi – there are a handful of MIONE owners knocking around and there is some good advice to get you started.

  2. Rene
    May 27, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    one more here, from Denmark 🙂

  3. Olvi
    June 18, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    One in Finland too and Iam really waiting major update every week! Great and cheap phone!

    • June 18, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      Its great isn’t it. ICS updates are becoming really stable now.

  4. Benno
    July 5, 2012 at 8:04 am

    where to find the instructions for installin ICS om MIONE. i am in Denmark. i bought 2 one for me and one for my kid.

    • July 20, 2012 at 10:01 am

      Sorry for the delay in responding Benno. I’ve been away to China. It is probably best if you go to the MiuiAndroid Website. They is plenty of advice there. I don’t think they do Danish translations yet however.

  5. September 14, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    One more here, in france now 🙂 Bought the phone when i was living in China.

  6. Neville
    September 15, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    So.. i’m planning to buy this phone (Xiaomi MI 2)… i would like to know if there is a “user manual” for this phone in english… coz i’m a noob and a first time android user … so i would need some advice and support.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

